America the Beautiful Cheesecake Squares

squares

Celebrating July 4th is easy with these jazzy little treats. Make them ahead of time, so you can enjoy time with your family and friends.
They travel well, bring a batch to the neighborhood cook out and pass around a few smiles. One of the first cul – de -sac parties I attended was about a week after I moved to North Carolina. Growing up in New England, this was a new twist on hanging in the hood for me. Feeling a bit shy, I baked a batch of treats, put on my party shoes and walked on down.
They welcomed me with sweet tea, and poured on the southern charm. The evening was rather magical, getting to know all my new neighbors, becoming familiar with the slang, food has a funny way of bringing folks together.
These folks have adopted me as part of the family, and here we are 14 years later. We vacation together, we take day trips and set new adventures together. We have lived through birth’s, graduations, weddings, retirements,  and even a few of the tough life changes like loss of a loved one.
The hood has certainly given me more than just a place to try out new recipes, it has shaped my life and filled my heart with joy.

This recipe is under desserts, don’t be shy, make a batch and share, let your soul shine.

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “America the Beautiful Cheesecake Squares

  1. gypsysoup July 1, 2015 at 3:02 am Reply

    Reblogged this on Gypsy Soup.

Leave a Reply

