Spinach Pies

spinach pies

A long, long, long time ago, I lived in Newburyport. I quaint little village, complete with fishermen and strawberry festivals. My dear friend was stationed in the Navy in a nearby port. One day he came to visit, unannounced, just showed up.
The morning sun streaming through my kitchen window, there I stood, making 300 mini Spinach Pies  for the upcoming Fall Festival. Almost as if I was expecting company, I smiled, hugged him, quickly threw an apron on him, set him to the task of filling the car with these little gems. Having never tasted a spinach pie, my friend was a bit skeptical.
One bite and he understood why I made so many! The local folks enjoyed these, and all 300 spinach pies were gone within two hours.
Later that evening, my friend and I sat on the back screened porch, chatting about life’s adventures, and listening to the sound of crab apples falling.

This recipe is under Sides; fill your soul with warm memories and delicious food.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

