New England Cranberry & Apple Crisp

cranberry apple crumble pie-9

 

” Honey, Bunny ! Come on, we are going for a drive.” Ooh, how sweet those words from my Sittu (my grandmother) sounded to me. Leaf Peeping, gathering apples, and stopping for some ice cream and pie. The trip would always begin the same, Sittu would have some rouse to hook me into driving her to pick up some secret ingredient she needed. As the car headed off the highway, through some little town, she’d holler ” Stop the car! ” Screeching to a halt, I would ask what was the matter. Her reply, ” There! Those yellow leaves. get out and pick me some.” Three hours later, a car full of vibrant red, pink, yellow leafs, apples and a few pine cones, and one tired driver, I would state – I’m hungry, time to get home.
Sittu would holler again, ” Aah, Stop The Car ! ” I would slam on the brakes, and just like magic, there would appear a cute little roadside dinner. Boosting the Best Cranberry Pie on Cape Cod.

1/2 cup sugar
1/2cup brown sugar
2 Tablespoons flour
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
Dash of nutmeg
1 Tablespoon orange peel
2 Tablespoons butter
2 cups fresh cranberries
3 large apples
½ cup walnuts

The complete recipe is under desserts.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment